Skip to content

Make a Smoothie: It’s easy, good for you & delicious!

April 11, 2010

Make a smoothie. Its easy, good for you and delicious!

I love smoothies! They are like healthy milkshakes, and they are really easy to make too. My freezer is always stocked with frozen fruit, so when I get a sugar craving – or need a quick healthy snack or meal – I just whip up a smoothie. 

My standard smoothie recipe is: 

1 banana 

4 whole frozen strawberries 

1/2 cup frozen blueberries 

1/2 cup orange juice 

1/4 cup plain or vanilla Greek yogurt 

1 tbsp honey 

2 tbsp ground flax or wheat germ or both 

Enough water for your prefered consistency 

Just blend all of the ingredients in a blender until smooth and pour. The recipe makes enough for one really big (about 32 ounces) smoothie, or two to three smaller smoothies. Sometimes I mix it up depending on what type of fruit I have on hand. Canned or fresh pineapple and peaches make a nice addition or substitution. You can also use any type of yogurt, or milk if you prefer. I like Greek yogurt because it has more protein and less sugar. My son and I also find that bendy straws always make smoothies taste better:-) 

Last month’s issue of Health magazine had some great (and some interesting) sounding smoothie recipes that I’m definitely going to try. I’ll let you know which are the best. 

Do you have a favorite smoothie recipe?

Leave a Reply

